Out and about in the fog.

I went for a wee donder on the bike Sunday…I was grateful for the opportunity to get out as I was really really busy Friday through to Sunday afternoon with lots of other much much more important things – so the cycling had to wait.

Sunday AM I was playing guitar at St. Pauls and St. Georges church Ps and listening to the Associate Rector Rich Cornfield talking about how he’s taken up cycling!  Yeay – great !

…And spreading the gospel to the flock as well! yeay again! Good one – two pluses in the one morning….

The bonuses kept coming – after doing yet more shopping on the way home I got in to make lunch and was alerted to the fact that the sister-in-law was coming round for a visit.

That was my golden opportunity to get some cycling in whilst she had a nice natter with my wife.

Of course the weather had been BRILIANT on Saturday – on Sunday  it was  foggy with Haar coming in off the sea…and was very grey and cold. The road was slightly slick with damp too.

I’ll take  the opportunity though!

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 22.35.16

 

Gullane in the mist by Jim Andrew – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23879136

 

Road to Gullane ahoy!

My reasoning had been relatively simple – 1hr out to Gullane , 1hr back – chuck in an Arthurs Seat for a hill climb or two.

Some flashy lights on the bars and rear light on under the saddle and I’m good to go.

What I didn’t reckon on after my loop around Arthurs Seat was just how much wind there would be coming in off the sea.

My simple brain had mistakenly equated the presence of Haar (mist coming in off the sea as a result of a temperature inversion) with the absence of wind.

Not today – it was being blown inland off the sea. And at a good rate of knots too!

Unusually the wind was blowing inland from the east towards the west – almost unheard of as the prevailing wind in this area almost always comes from the south west.

So it is face into the wind ….again. Ach well – at least I’m rolling and on one of my favourite cycle routes too!!

Heading out past the misty and deserted horse racecourse in Mussleburgh was eerie…..but the main road out past the Preston pans power station was busy enough….

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 23.08.50

Cockenzie Power Station courtesy of Redmaan;-   http://www.flickr.com/photos/redmaaan/

The haar was rolling past me in the breeze and it was cold….but I was enjoying it.

Nice to be out and about really…

 

Ring Ring!!!

I got as far as Longniddry Bents – which are fantastic rolling beaches – with a great coastline rolling road too.

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 23.43.27

 

My phone started ringing and yes – it was time to return. Ah well.

 

….At least the wind helped push me back home.

Got  a nice new Strava PB and back to the house in short order .

Just a wee donder

 

Right – back to it then – but it was good to get out – even if only for a short while….

Haar, Haar, Haar…then Brrr!

Leave a Reply

