Remembrance

ezpc1:

With the amount of exposure in the UK media about the deaths of 8 cyclists in London in the last 2 weeks, I was extremely moved by a simple account of one man and his bike, and the impact of his death on his friends and family. I feel the blogger, Seth, writes honestly and with dignity about the true tragedy of each death on the road, and the potential cost of cycling regardless of the cause……

Originally posted on Cycling in the South Bay:

If you choose to write about cycling, you’re eventually going to write about death.

When I heard that Udo Heinz, a man I never met, had been run over and killed on his bicycle by a careless bus driver, I felt the worst thing that any human can feel inside.

I felt nothing.

The almost daily recitation of deaths and horrific injuries that rain down on people for the simple sin of cycling had made me numb. “Another innocent person killed,” I thought. It was as if I were reading of a battlefield casualty in a distant war.

The details trickled in, and they were terrible beyond any description. The sadness I should have felt when I learned that he left behind two young children and a lovely wife wasn’t there, only a black empty hole where my emotions should have been. This, and my recognition of it, made…

View original 875 more words

Leave a Reply

